Format Hardcover
Publication Date 10/12/21
ISBN 9781643137971
Trim Size / Pages 6 x 9 in / 336

Request a review copy or press kit

The Haunting Season

Eight Ghostly Tales for Long Winter Nights

Bridget Collins Imogen Hermes Gowar Kiran Millwood Hargrave Andrew Michael Hurley Jess Kidd Elizabeth Macneal Natasha Pulley Laura Purcell

Eight bestselling, award-winning writers return to the time-honored tradition of the seasonal ghost story in this spellbinding collection of new and original haunted tales.

Long before Charles Dickens and Henry James popularized the tradition of supernatural horror, the shadowy nights of winter have been a time for people to gather together by the flicker of candlelight and experience the intoxicating thrill of a spooky tale.

Now eight bestselling, award-winning authors—all of them master storytellers of the sinister and the macabre—bring the tradition to vivid life in a spellbinding new collection of original spine-tingling tales.

Taking you from the frosty fens of the English countryside, to the snow-covered grounds of a haunted estate, to a bustling London Christmas market, these mesmerizing stories will capture your imagination and serve as your indispensable companion to cold, dark nights. So curl up, light a candle, and fall under the ghostly spell of winters past . . .

Bridget Collins is the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Binding.

Imogen Hermes Gowar is the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Mermaid and Mrs. Hancock.

Kiran Hargrave Millwood is the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Mercies

Andrew Michael Hurley is the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Loney.

Jess Kidd is the award-winning author of Himself, Mr. Flood’s Last Resort, and Things in Jars. Learn more at

Born in Scotland, Elizabeth Macneal is a writer and potter based in London. The Doll Factory, Elizabeth’s debut novel, was an international bestseller, has been translated into twenty-nine languages, and has been optioned for a major television series. It won the Caledonia Novel Award 2018. Circus of Wonders is her second novel. Visit her online at, on Twitter @AsMacneal, or on Instagram @ElizabethMacneal.

Natasha Pulley is the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street.

Laura Purcell is the award-winning author of The Silent Companions.

Buy it now in print: Amazon Barnes & Noble IndieBound

Buy it now in ebook: Amazon Barnes & Noble Apple Kobo

Endorsements & Reviews

“In this haunting short story collection, eight bestselling authors set the mood for spooky season with spellbinding ghost stories. Travel to the English countryside, to haunted estates and cozy London Christmas markets. These stories are perfect for curling up with a hot cup of tea and a cozy blanket.” Buzzfeed
"Harsh winter weather and vague Victoriana bind these eight terrifying new horror shorts showcasing human depravity and grisly murder. Bleak and brutal, these tales will appeal to historical fiction readers and horror lovers alike." Publishers Weekly